Using Edmodo to Organize My Workflow

When it comes to workflow, one of the things I struggle with is keeping track of my guided reading groups and individual student progress. I meet with students 1-2 times a week in small groups to focus on a particular reading skill. While meeting with each group, I teach a new skill, we practice it together, and then I ask students to try it on their own. Within these groups,  I struggle to manage:

  1. Meeting times with each group
  2. Student progress

Students often ask when they will read with me next.  If I don’t stick to a schedule, I risk not meeting with groups at all because I am trying to organize a schedule in my head. I also don’t have a way to track student progress in these groups other than formal reading tests. I often observe student progress, but without an organizational system to track information, many of my insights get lost.

I think Edmodo may be a good tool to help me organize my workflow. First, I can post events to a calendar and share them with small groups. Using a calendar allows me and my students to keep track of when we will meet each week. Students can also post pictures and comments on how they are using a particular reading skill or strategy, allowing me to monitor their progress.  Within each group, I can create folders where I can post example anchor charts or tools we have used together. Another benefit is that parents can see items posted to their child’s reading group in Edmodo and reinforce these skills at home.

Screen Shot 2017-07-26 at 1.13.06 PM
I can create and keep track of different groups within Edmodo.
Screen Shot 2017-07-26 at 1.44.29 PM
Students can see the schedule of when they are meeting with me.
Screen Shot 2017-07-26 at 1.16.32 PM
Within each group, students can access folders with different tools we have used in guided reading. I organized them by into accuracy, comprehension, and fluency tools, but labeled them in “kid friendly” tools. 
Screen Shot 2017-07-26 at 1.42.26 PM
Students can post images of their thinking to share with their reading group, allowing me to track student progress. 

Leave a comment